Ideas for Meg’s First Birthday Party

At first, after seeing the expenses & stress from other parents planning their kids’ parties, my husband & I agreed that we would just keep it really simple and have more like a ‘get together’ just for the kids. I was still going to do my themes though. But my husband started calling people saying “Megan’s party.” I was like, okaaaaaay, so are you giving me the green light to basically turn this into a partay and ‘be me & do what I do.” I tend to get really deep, okay obsessive, over things like this. I truly love coming up with ideas & planning & creating things.

I have started planning a little late and may not be able to pull everything off this year.

Theme: Butterfly

Similar to those type of butterflies in above photo. Photo Credit: http://www.funny-wedding-ideas.com

Invitations: ????

Food/Menu: ????

Cake vs Cupcakes: I prefer cupcakes for her first Bday. Okay edit: My husband just said we should have a mini cake; will do. Cupcakes with butterflies on top:

Photo Credit: http://cupcakespictures.com

Goodie Bags/Education for the kids: I guess candy and something educational about butterflies. I know most people don’t consider incorporating academics into a party, but I think it will show the kids how learning can & should be fun and applicable to their everyday lives. If I had more planning time, I’d have the kids either do a theme-related (art) activity before the party (& have it nicely displayed at the party) or have them do an activity or art during the party.

Display Table: Flowers & 2 Photobooks. The first book is the Pregnancy & Newborn photo book I made. I’m working on the 2nd book now, which is basically a review of her first year: First Holidays, First time in Church, First time at the Pier etc… & of course my other babies are always in my photo books a lot. I think it will be cool for the adults to  flip through these books. It can kind of be a daunting task because I try to make sure all of the kids are equally represented in the books. And plus I don’t want to leave out any of the close adults in her life either so it’s a lot of work trying to include everyone.

Balloons: Let’s not forget balloons.

Outfits: Probably this:

photo credit: http://www.etsy.com/shop/SherbetBaby

One comment on “Ideas for Meg’s First Birthday Party

  1. Pingback: Birthday Party Ideas (Part 2) « PhotoMom

Leave a Reply

